The Church of Our Lady of the Assumption
The Church of Our Lady of the Assumption church is a primitive Romanesque church that was probably started at the beginning of the 11th century and then completed, from the middle of the 12th century, in the Gothic style then in the spotlight. Thus, the facade with its very characteristic screen wall, the portal with geometric decoration and the first six bays of the nave with its massive piles and its semicircular arches are in Romanesque style while the lantern tower, the last bays of the nave , the aisles and the choir are Gothic. The apse and the tympanum of the facade date from the 19th century.
Carried out after subscription in 1862 by Lusson, a Parisian master glassmaker, the stained-glass windows represent some local personalities such as Abbé Cochet, a Sanvicais archaeologist whose excavations in Étretat revealed Roman remains. There is also a painting of the Virgin offered by Napoleon III and Eugenie while passing through Étretat, and a Cavaillé-Coll organ classified as historical monuments in 1993. The cemetery houses the graves of Commonwealth soldiers and airmen who died during the two wars. global. From here, one can also admire picturesque grimacing Romanesque modillions along the apse of the church.